• E.O. Paton Electric Welding Institute (PWI)
  • Academician Borys Paton – 2020 IEEE Honorary Member


    Academician Borys Paton – 2020 IEEE Honorary Member

    Снимок экрана 2019-11-30 в 00.44.00Academician Borys Paton – 2020 IEEE Honorary Member

    The IEEE Ukraine Section is proud to announce that Academician Borys Paton, President of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, has been selected to receive 2020 IEEE Honorary Membership. The citation acknowledges his lifetime achievements within IEEE technical fields of interest in the development of processes of electrometallurgy, materials science, electric welding of metals and biological tissues.

    IEEE Honorary Membership is an honorary type of membership of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), that is given for life to an individual. It is awarded by the Board of Directors of IEEE to people ‘who have rendered meritorious service to humanity in [the] IEEE’s designated fields of interest’ while not being members of IEEE.

    Previous years IEEE Honorary Membership was granted to Telle Whitney (2019), Anton Zeilinger (2018), Mike Lazaridis (2018), Rodolfo Stefano Zich (2016), Elon Musk (2015), Shirley Marie Tilghman (2014) and other.

    The IEEE Ukraine Section would like to thank Mr. Ievgen Pichkalov (nominator), Ukraine Section Chair,  for coordination of preparing excellent nomination application.

    Ukraine Section is grateful to endorsers: Prof. Uwe Reisgen, Institute for Welding Technology and Joining Technology at RWTH, Germany; Prof. Jan Pilarczyk, Institute of Welding, Poland; Prof. Petro Fomin, Bogomolets National Medical University, Ukraine; Prof. Mikhaylo Zgurovsky, Igor Sikorsky Kyiv Polytechnic Institute, Ukraine; Prof. Giorgi Tavadze, Ferdinand Tavadze Institute of Metallurgy and Material Science, Republic of Georgia.


    news, succes